"Behind Us Is Water" is the debut album from The Storm, and is out now. It's available from CD Baby and Bandcamp.

The tracks are:

  1. In The Morning
  2. On The Wire
  3. Blood Runs Red
  4. Hole In The Head
  5. Promises
  6. Beyond These Walls
  7. Even If I Fell
  8. Parallel Worlds
  9. I Know It's Odd
  10. Time Stands Still
  11. Hopes And Dreams


The EP was The Storm's first recording, and was released in March 2008, and is now sold out.

"At times rattly and percussive, at others, delicate and intricate - and that only accounts for Lindsay Sugden's guitar playing which blends distinctly Caledonian, ethereal fingerpicking with unusual chord progressions and bass runs in constant motion. Her breathy vocals float through these four songs, merging alternatively with the guitar and gorgeous, unique cello; delicately clattering percussion provides an urgency in contrast with the dreamy strings.

The empathetic production emphasises every intake of breath, the scraping of fingers on strings and subtle reverb creating an atmosphere of intimacy. This is proper contemporary Scottish folk music: neither gimmicky nor anachronistic, it sounds both familiar and yet otherwordly" - The Skinny